Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


UCC rewards film makers at annual film festival.

actor receiving his ward from UCC at the Annual Film Festival
actor receiving his ward from UCC at the Annual Film Festival

It was pomp and color as filmmakers celebrated their achievements in the Annual Film Festival organized by the Uganda Communication Commission (UCC) . The event held on 7th June  2024, at the Uganda Institute of Information and Communication Technology aimed to recognize the local filmmakers.

The winners were awarded with a plaque, certificate, and cheque from the Uganda Communications Commission(ucc) worth millions of shillings. Many filmmakers in various categories graced the event including legendary film producers like Abbey Mukiibi and veteran actors like Simon Base Kalema and Dr Bossa.

veteran actor Abbey Mukiibi atthe red carpet with a coleague

veteran actor Abbey Mukiibi atthe red carpet with a coleague

Notable figures like Minister Chris Balyomusi also represented the government. He promised that the copyright law would be worked on soon so that creators could enjoy the fruits of their work.

” Film is not just about acting but also a means of passing on information. By watching performances you can learn one or two lessons. We are looking into passing copyright law so that you can enjoy the fruits of your work. The government will continue supporting the film industry so that it keeps growing,” Minister Chris Baryomusi.

The local film industry has faced many hurdles from low-budget financing, lack of equipment, unprofessional actors, and huge competition from well-established film industries like Holly Wood, Bolly Wood, and Nolly Wood.
However, with the increased support from the government, through its bodies like the Uganda Communications Commission (UCC) a lot is yet to come to be enjoyed on the local market.
list of winners
Best Short Film (Last Shoe Maker)
Best Animation Kataleya Denis Dhikusooka
Best Students Film – Scolds Bridle
Best Documentary – Ghetto Mama
Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film – Felix Baale Bwanika
Best Supporting Actress in Feature Film – Veronica Nakayo
Best Actor in TV Series – Simon Base Kalema
Best Actress in a TV Series – Doreen Mirembe (Damalie)
Best Makeup in Feature Film- Latifa Nabatanzi and Joan JoJo
Best Film Original -TAAMA
Best Post Production Editing – Sudais Kizito
Best Sound Design -lsiko Abubaker (Christmas Together)
Best Costume Design – Ali Musinguzi, Dora Fashionista, and Patricia Naggayi (The Lions of Buganda)
Best Production Design in a Feature Film – Imran Musabe (Makula)
Best Screenplay in a Feature Film- Mary Nyanzi and Eleanor Nabwiso (Christmas Together).
Best Cinematography in a Feature film – Alex Ireta (Makula)
Best Actor in Feature Film – Edris Lubega
Best Actress in Feature Film Penny – Peninah Nampanga (Maria).
Lifetime Achievement Award – Micheal Wawuuyo Snr
ABest Viewers (People’s) Choice Award – Omukululo
Best TV drama series – Damalie (Doreen Mirembe)
Best Director – Nisha Kalema and Dan Mugisha (Makula)
Best Indigenous Film – Lion of Buganda (Jerry Sesanga)
Best Feature Film- Makula


Written By

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Articles You Might Like


Views: 318 City socialite Prima Kardashi has finally conquered her fears and opened up about why her relationship with radio personality and love doctor...


Views: 292 Nansana Worship House Church leader, Pastor Wilson Bugembe has recounted a moment when he was sent a document asking him to relocate...


Views: 110 The organizing committee of the upcoming Thanksgiving event of Hon. Mathius Mpuuga, representative of Nyendo Mukungwe in parliament, led by Hon. Abed...


Views: 65 Nyendo Mukungwe member of parliament and comisioner Hon. Mathius Mpuuga has today celebrated the achievements in his political career. The function held...